The state of Connecticut has 14 lighthouses and we are on a quest to see them all! Follow our new series, ‘The Connecticut Lighthouse Tour’, as we travel the coastline of Connecticut and visit the distinct lighthouses that the state has to offer.
Our first stop took us to New London Ledge Lighthouse in Groton on the Thames River at the mouth of the New London harbor. Built-in 1909 the lighthouse was originally called the Southwest Ledge light before confusion with a similarly named lighthouse in New Haven prompted the change to the name we know today. The lighthouse is rumored to be haunted by the late keeper Ernie.
The United States Coast Guard took over operations of the lighthouse in 1939 and it became automated in 1987. Today the lighthouse is owned and operated by the New London Maritime Society and is part of the National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act program.
If you would like to read more of our content, articles will be posted at New England Travel Journal.
- Smith, Greg. New London Maritime Society takes over as New London Ledge Light owner. The Day. August 6th, 2016.
- New London Ledge Light. Lighthouse Friends.